Home NAS comparison

openmediavault vs Unraid

openmediavault and Unraid take different approaches to almost everything. Pick openmediavault if you want it free: Unraid costs from $49. Pick Unraid if you want less to learn: we rate Unraid intermediate and openmediavault advanced.

Verdict

openmediavault or Unraid: which should you pick?

Built from the facts below. Neither is “best” for everyone; it comes down to your drives, budget and how much you want to learn.

Pick openmediavault if…

  • You want it free: Unraid costs from $49
  • You want to run it on a Raspberry Pi

Tinkerers with a Raspberry Pi or an old PC who mainly want file shares.

openmediavault full profile

Pick Unraid if…

  • You want less to learn: we rate Unraid intermediate and openmediavault advanced
  • You want a one-click app store in the web interface
  • You want local AI apps such as Ollama from the official catalog
  • You want to mix drives of different sizes and add them one at a time
  • You want ZFS checksums and snapshots to guard against silent data corruption

People reusing a pile of different-sized drives who want lots of apps.

Unraid full profile
Features

openmediavault vs Unraid features

FeatureopenmediavaultUnraid
Free to useUsable with no licence fee for a normal home setup.YesNo
One-click app storeInstall apps such as Plex, Jellyfin or Nextcloud from a catalog in the web interface.NoYes
Built-in photo libraryA photo app made by the NAS maker, not just a third-party app you install.NoNo
Local AI apps in the storeOllama or another local AI runtime can be installed from the official catalog or a built-in feature.NoYes
Mix drive sizes freelyAdd drives of different sizes over time and use their full capacity.NoYes
ZFS file systemZFS checks data for silent corruption and supports snapshots. It works best with matching drives and more RAM.NoYes
Runs on a Raspberry PiAn official or documented way to run it on a Raspberry Pi.YesNo
PriceOne-time prices in US dollars.FreeFrom $49
Minimum RAMAs stated by the maker.1 GB—
Side by side

Price, hardware and storage

Only the rows where they differ.

PriceopenmediavaultFreeUnraid$49 Starter (6 drives), $109 Unleashed, $249 Lifetime; 30-day free trial
LevelopenmediavaultAdvancedUnraidIntermediate
Based onopenmediavaultDebian 13UnraidSlackware Linux
LicenceopenmediavaultOpen source (GPLv3)UnraidProprietary (perpetual licence)
StorageopenmediavaultLinux software RAID and standard file systems; plugins add more.UnraidArray of mixed-size drives with up to two parity drives; ZFS and Btrfs pools are also supported.
Processoropenmediavault64-bit x86 or ARMUnraidAlmost any 64-bit Intel or AMD
RAMopenmediavault1 GB minimum, 4 GB recommended for beginnersUnraidNot specified
System driveopenmediavault4 GB minimum, 120 GB recommendedUnraidUSB flash drive (internal boot option since 7.3)
Architecturesopenmediavaultx86-64, ARM64Unraidx86-64
AppsopenmediavaultPlugins, plus Docker containers through the omv-extras Compose plugin (set up once from the command line).UnraidCommunity Applications store (Docker) and virtual machines.
Local AIopenmediavaultNo built-in AI features. Local AI apps can run as Docker containers through the Compose plugin.UnraidNo built-in AI features. Community templates for Ollama support NVIDIA and AMD GPUs.

Local AI: hardware matters more than the system

Both answers above depend on your memory and graphics card. See what each kind of hardware can run.

Pros and cons

Strengths and trade-offs

openmediavault

Strengths

  • Very light: runs on old PCs and Raspberry Pi boards
  • Free, open source and built on plain Debian
  • Does file sharing and backups without extra layers

Trade-offs

  • Plain interface with no app store out of the box
  • Docker apps need the omv-extras plugin and some command-line setup
  • Raspberry Pi install means installing Debian first

Unraid

Strengths

  • Mix old and new drives of any size and add them one at a time
  • Huge community app store, plus virtual machines
  • One-time licence; you keep it forever

Trade-offs

  • Costs $49–$249; Starter and Unleashed include one year of updates
  • Boots from a USB stick by default
  • The parity drive must be at least as large as your biggest data drive

openmediavault vs Unraid: common questions

Is openmediavault or Unraid better for a home NAS?

It depends on what you need most. Pick openmediavault if you want it free: Unraid costs from $49 and you want to run it on a Raspberry Pi. Pick Unraid if you want less to learn: we rate Unraid intermediate and openmediavault advanced, you want a one-click app store in the web interface and you want local AI apps such as Ollama from the official catalog. In short, openmediavault suits tinkerers with a Raspberry Pi or an old PC who mainly want file shares, and Unraid suits people reusing a pile of different-sized drives who want lots of apps.

Which is cheaper, openmediavault or Unraid?

openmediavault costs less to start. openmediavault: Free. Unraid: $49 Starter (6 drives), $109 Unleashed, $249 Lifetime; 30-day free trial.

Which needs less hardware, openmediavault or Unraid?

openmediavault needs: 64-bit x86 or ARM; RAM: 1 GB minimum, 4 GB recommended for beginners; system drive: 4 GB minimum, 120 GB recommended. Unraid needs: Almost any 64-bit Intel or AMD; RAM: Not specified; system drive: USB flash drive (internal boot option since 7.3).

Can openmediavault and Unraid run AI locally?

openmediavault: No built-in AI features. Local AI apps can run as Docker containers through the Compose plugin. Unraid: No built-in AI features. Community templates for Ollama support NVIDIA and AMD GPUs.

Can I mix drive sizes on openmediavault or Unraid?

Only Unraid lets you mix sizes freely. openmediavault: Linux software RAID and standard file systems; plugins add more. Unraid: Array of mixed-size drives with up to two parity drives; ZFS and Btrfs pools are also supported.

Which is easier for beginners, openmediavault or Unraid?

Unraid. We rate openmediavault advanced and Unraid intermediate, based on how much a first-time NAS builder has to learn.

More NAS comparisons

All NAS systems ranked

Sources, checked October 19, 2026: openmediavault prerequisites · openmediavault on Wikipedia · OMV 8 release (CNX Software) · omv-extras wiki · Unraid pricing · What is Unraid? (docs) · Unraid on Wikipedia · Unraid 7.3.3 release notes · Community Apps: Ollama. The level is our judgment of how much a first-time NAS builder has to learn.